logo 03:00

How Chinese Astrology differ from Vedic Astrology?

How Chinese Astrology differ from Vedic Astrology?

How Vedic Astrology & Chinese Astrology Differs?

Both Chinese and Vedic Astrology are two different systems of astrology. Chinese Astrology has its origin in China whereas the Vedic Astrology has its origin in India. Both of these systems follow a very different aspect when it comes to assigning the zodiac signs. The Chinese Astrology takes assigns animals as the zodiac signs whereas the Vedic Astrology takes into the account the constellations visible in the sky. One is based on a legend and the other has a theories and concepts behind the complex assertions and variations.

Learn more about Chinese Astrology here.

Key Differences between Vedic Astrology & Chinese Astrology

Time Frame:

Chinese Astrology divides astrological signs by years, though Vedic astrology isolates them by months. The Chinese believed that individuals born around the same time share similar characteristics, whereas Vedic astrologers are of the belief that being born even minutes apart can influence the personality of an individual to a great extent.


The 12 zodiac signs in Chinese Astrology are derived from a myth. As per myth, when God was building up a calendar, he gathered every animal on Earth to participate in a race. The initial twelve species to reach the finish line were assigned as signs in the Chinese zodiac. Subsequently, the Rat got in front of the pack through tricky and system, while the fastidious Pig came in last since it was persistently diverted by niggling details.

Vedic Astrology, then again, puts together the 12 zodiac signs with respect to the groups of stars that move through the sky throughout the 12 months of the year. In this manner, the long stretch of January is related with Capricorn since that constellation is directly overhead during that time, though the period of July is connected to Cancer since this is the point at which the Crab is at its peak.

Lunar V/S Solar Calendars:

Chinese Astrology depends on the lunar calendar, which is organized by the periods of the Moon. As per the lunar calendar, every month starts with a New Moon and goes on for around 29 days. The western calendar is composed by Earth's circle around the Sun. As indicated by the western calendar, every month starts on a set date and can last somewhere in the range of 28 and 31 days.

The Zodiac Elements:

Chinese Astrology recognizes the world as being comprised of five components: Fire, Earth, Metal, Water and Wood. In the lunar calendar, every component is connected to a 2-year time span, and administers the propelling powers throughout your life. Fire signs are inspired by excitement; Earth types are persuaded to make secure foundations. People born under the Metal element are driven to create order, while Water types are constrained to frame passionate bonds. Individuals brought into the world under the Wood component are propelled to investigate.

Learn more about the Zodiac Sign Elements in Vedic Astrology.

In Vedic Astrology, four components are recognized: Fire, Earth, Air, and Water. Every component is related with three zodiac signs, and oversees the common brain research of each gathering. As indicated by western Astrology, signs administered by the Fire component are indiscreet, while Earth component signs are useful. Individuals born under Air signs are mentally arranged, though Water signs are driven by feeling.

Lunar Stages V/S Lunar Nodes

Chinese Astrology places great emphasis on the lunar period of birth. This system of divination links a person?s temperament with the phase of the Moon at the time of their birth.There is four kinds of lunar stages: New Moon, Waxing Moon, Full Moon and Waning Moon. New Moon types are adventurous and seek innovative environments. Waxing Moon individuals are persevering and require legitimacy based frameworks. Full Moon types are diplomatic and search out situations where convection is underscored. Waning Moon individuals are reflective and want quiet environment.

On the other hand, western Astrology recognizes three zodiac sign characteristics: Cardinal, Fixed, and Mutable. Every mode is connected to four signs. As indicated by western Astrology, one's method of birth decides how one works in some random condition. Thus, Cardinal signs look for acknowledgment by getting to be pioneers. Fixed sorts make their imprint through diligent work. Mutable signs form deep personal Connections as a means to fit in.

Check out the Intricacies of Vedic Astrology here.

Other Key Differences between Chinese & Vedic Astrology

  • In Vedic Astrology, zodic signs have different symbols whereas in Chinese Astrology, zodiac signs are represented by animals.

  • In Vedic Astrolgy there are 4 zodiac elements namely Fire, Earth, Air, and Water whereas in Chinese Astrology there are 5 zodiac elements namely Fire, Earth, Metal, Water & Wood.

  • In Vedic Astrology takes into consideration the various positions and aspects of planets whereas in Chinese Astrology, the hour of the birth takes the higher pedestal.

About Astropride

Talk to Expert Astrologers with Astropride and get solutions for all your problems related to career, finance, relationships, love life, etc.

Popular Posts

Check Your Horoscope

Talk To Astrologers

Acharya Ganesh


Acharya Ganesh

experience : 15 years

language : Hindi

review : 40

Acharya Tarachand


Acharya Tarachand

experience : 18 Years

language : Hindi

review : 110

Acharyaa Gayatri


Acharyaa Gayatri

experience : 10 Years

language : English, Hindi Marathi, Bangla

review : 33


There are no comments for this blog.

Leave A Comment